The perfect Italy Initiary – A road trip form Venice to Cinque Terre

 

For me it had the perfect road trip this summer, because of the uncertain situation I decided to visit only one of our neighbour countries. Then in Italy there are so many beautiful spots to discover. Anyway, you already agreed with me, on Instagram I could already inspire you for the most beautiful places. This blog post should give you an overview of my summer road trip 2020 and inspire you to discover Italy. Today I take you to Venice, Tuscany and Cinque Terre.

 

Venice – the city of love

 

 

Venice is really a unique city and always worth a visit. This year I was there for the 4th time and discovered new Bijous. First of all it is the countless bridges and waterways that give Venice its charm, but also the magnificent buildings. There are some places in Venice you should not miss, above all of course the famous St. Mark’s Square as well as a trip in the Gondola and the Rialto Bridge.

 

 

Another highlight can be found near the Doge’s Palace, the Bridge of Sighs. The Bridge of Sighs is named after the prisoners who were brought to the prison by the bridge and gave their last sigh in freedom.

 

 

In Venice you can also find Pizza & Pasta, unique hotels and much more. You can find my tips and a summary of the most beautiful places in my Venice Travel Guide.

 

Florence for art lovers

 

Firenze Florenz

 

The next stop on our road trip was Florence, the city of the arts. This was my first visit to the art capital of Tuscany, many of my friends raved about this jewel before and I was not disappointed either. This beautiful view over the city can be found at Piazzale Michelangelo, which can be reached by car, bus or on foot. We climbed up the countless steps.

 

 

Probably the most famous sight is the cathedral Santa Maria del Fiore, this magnificent building is decorated with countless details, a real masterpiece of architecture. If you then walk along the banks of the river Arno like I did, you will also discover the Ponte Vecchio – another landmark of Florence. In this bridge there are still small shops. Are you looking for exceptional accommodation, culinary delights and more? Then read up on my Florence city guide for your stay.

 

Toscana Countryside

 

 

The territory of Tuscany is particularly famous for its picturesque landscapes. These can of course be found away from the cities in the countryside. Besides countless flower fields with sunflowers and co. farms and cultivated fields determine the landscape. Wine lovers get their money’s worth in the wine growing areas. Visit Siena and Arezzo for the ultimate Tuscany feeling.

 

 

For overnight stays we recommend an agriturismo farm, which like a hotel often offers pools, its own restaurants and more. Moreover, there is an incomparable Tuscany feeling. Also the cuisine in the country convinces with local delicacies.

 

Terme di Saturnia – Cascate del Mulino

 

 

Absolutely unique and beautiful are the springs of the Cascate del Mulino, which are located in the middle of Tuscany. Through innumerable winding roads one finally reaches this enchanting place. The village of Saturnia is located about 100 kilometres south of Florence and is world famous for its thermal springs. At the Gorello waterfalls the sulphurous water gushes out of the rocks at a temperature of 37 degrees and then flows into large, naturally shaped pools. You can swim here at any time of day or night, parking spaces are available. I recommend you take an old swimming costume with you, because the smell of sulphur will not get you out. I was there early in the morning at about 6 o’clock to watch the sunrise.

 

Pisa and the leaning tower

 

 

Also not for the first time I visited the Leaning Tower of Pisa, because 4 years ago I was already here, but then with many more tourists. A short history of the tower: The tower was actually meant to be a freestanding bell tower of the cathedral in Pisa, but 12 years after the laying of the foundation stone, the stump of the tower started to incline towards the south-east. The reason for its inclination, however, lies in the subsoil of clayey mud and sand, which has deformed under the weight. The Leaning Tower of Pisa is part of the UNESCO World Heritage and is probably straight, because of its location world-famous.

 

 

Next to the Leaning Tower of Pisa is the magnificent Cathedral of Pisa and the Baptistery. The tower can also be visited from the inside, but as it was quite warm and there was a compulsory mask, I decided not to visit it. Nevertheless, it is worthwhile to stop in Pisa to see these beautiful buildings live and to get some memories.

 

Cinque Terre – the five colorful villages in Italy

 

Riomaggiore Cinque Terre

 

On social media this year, the pictures from Cinque Terre dominated in my feed. Because these five villages by the sea are also part of the UNESCO World Heritage and are absolutely unique you need to visit them. In just two days I discovered all five villages by train and by foot: it was love at first sight. For me personally, Vernazza is the most beautiful of the five villages, but you should not miss Riomaggiore with its characteristic red house.

 

 

Each one of the villages has its own charm. In Manarola, for example, you can enjoy the view of the sea at the Nessum Dorma restaurant. Monterosso al Mare is perfect for a beach day. And Vernazza invites you to stroll and hike. Corniglia is the village furthest away and towers high above the sea.

 

 

The visit of Cinque Terre was the perfect end of an exciting and versatile road trip through our neighbouring country Italy, we were on the road for about 10 days. If you are looking for more tips and suggestions for your visit to Cinque Terre, you will certainly find them in my travel guide.

Follow:
Share:

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_excludeUntranslatedPostComments() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/beautyna/public_html/thechicadvocate.com/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 287

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_excludeUntranslatedPostComments() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/beautyna/public_html/thechicadvocate.com/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 287

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_excludeUntranslatedPostComments() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/beautyna/public_html/thechicadvocate.com/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 287

2 Comments

  1. Tuesday September 29th, 2020 / 03:57 PM

    Bei den Bildern bekommt man gleich Fernweh!
    Liebe Grüße!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Der perfekte Italien Roadtrip – Venedig, Toskana, Cinque Terre

 

Für mich war es diesen Sommer der perfekte Roadtrip, aufgrund der unsicheren Situation hatte ich mich dazu entschlossen nur eines unserer Nachbarländer zu besuchen, denn in Italien gibt es soviele schöne Fleckchen zu entdecken. Da seit ihr jedenfalls mit mir einverstanden, auf Instagram konnte ich euch für die schönsten Orte bereits begeistern. Dieser Blogpost soll euch einen Überblick meines Sommer-Roadtrips 2020 geben und auch euch inspirieren Italien zu entdecken. Ich nehme euch heute mit nach Venedig, in die Toskana und nach Cinque Terre.

 

Venedig – die Stadt der Liebe

 

 

Venedig ist wirklich eine einmalige Stadt und immer wieder ein Besuch wert. Ich war dieses Jahr zum 4. Mal dort und habe wieder neue Bijous entdeckt. Vorab sind es die unzähligen Brücken und Wasserwege, die Venedig ihren Charme verleihen aber auch die prunkvollen Gebäude. Einige Orte dürft ihr euch in Venedig nicht entgehen lassen, allen voran natürlich den berühmten Markusplatz sowie eine Fahrt in der Gondola und die Rialto-Brücke.

 

 

Ein weiteres Highlight findet sich in der Nähe des Dogenpalasts, die Seufzerbrücke. Diese hat ihren Namen übrigens von den Gefangenen welche durch sie zum Gefängnis gebracht wurden und quasi ihren letzten Seufzer in Freiheit abgaben.

 

 

In Venedig findet ihr natürlich auch Pizza & Pasta, einzigartige Hotels und vieles mehr. Meine Tipps und eine Zusammenfassung der schönsten Plätze findet ihr in meinem Venedig Travelguide.

 

Florenz für Kunstliebhaber

 

Firenze Florenz

 

Die nächste Station unseres Roadtrips war Florenz, die Stadt der Künste. Dies war mein erster Besuch in der Kunst-Hauptstadt der Toskana, viele meiner Bekannten schwärmten zuvor von diesem Juwel und auch ich wurde nicht enttäuscht. Diesen wunderschönen Ausblick über die Stadt findet ihr beim Piazzale Michelangelo, dieser ist mit dem Auto, dem Bus oder zu Fuss erreichbar. Wir sind die unzähligen Stufen hinaufgestiegen.

 

 

Die wohl bekannteste Sehenswürdigkeit ist wohl die Kathedrale Santa Maria del Fiore, dieses prächtige Gebäude ist mit unzähligen Details versehen, ein wahres Meisterwerk der Baukunst. Wer sodann wie ich am Ufer des Flusses Arno entlang spaziert wird auch die Ponte Vecchio – ein weiteres Wahrzeichen von Florenz entdecken. In dieser Brücke befinden sich noch heute kleine Läden. Ihr seit auf der Suche nach eine aussergewöhnlichen Unterkunft, kulinarischen Höhenflügen und mehr? Dann lest euch ein in meinen Florenz Cityguide für euren Aufenthalt.

 

Toskana Countryside

 

 

Das Gebiet der Toskana ist besonders bekannt für seine malerischen Landschaften. Diese findet man natürlich abseits der Städte auf dem Land. Neben unzähligen Blumenfeldern mit Sonnenblumen und Co. Bestimmen Bauernhöfe und Anbaufelder das Landschaftsbild. Weinliebhaber kommen in den Weinanbaugebieten voll auf ihre Kosten. Besucht Siena und Arezzo für das ultimative Toskanafeeling.

 

 

Zum Übernachten empfiehlt sich ein Agriturismo Hof, diese bieten wie ein Hotel oftmals auch Pools, eigene Restaurants und mehr. Zudem gibt es ein unvergleichliches Toskana-Feeling. Auch die Küche auf dem Land überzeugt mit Lokalen Leckereien.

 

Terme di Saturnia – Cascate del Mulino

 

 

Absolut einzigartig und wunderschön sind die Quellen der Cascate del Mulino, welche sich in mitten der Toskana befinden. Durch unzählige kurvige Strassen gelangt man schliesslich an diesen zauberhaften Ort. Der Ort Saturnia befindet sich ca. 100 Kilometer südlich von Florenz und ist für seine Thermalquellen weltberühmt. Bei den Gorello-Wasserfällen sprudelt das schwefelhaltige Wasser mit 37 Grad Wärme aus den Felsen und fliesst anschliessend in grosse, natürlich geformte Becken. Baden kann man hier zu jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit baden kannst, Parkplätze sind verfügbar. Ich empfehle euch dazu einen alten Badeanzug mitzunehmen, denn der Schwefel-Geruch bringt ihr nicht mehr raus. Ich war am frühen morgen ca. um 6 Uhr schon dort um den Sonnenaufgang zu beobachten.

 

Pisa und der schiefe Turm

 

 

Ebenfalls nicht zum ersten Mal besucht habe ich den schiefen Turm von Pisa, denn vor 4 Jahren war ich bereits hier, anno dazumals jedoch mit viel mehr Touristen. Kurz zur Geschichte des Turms: Der Turm war eigentlich als freistehender Glockenturm den Dom in Pisa gedacht, doch 12 Jahre nach der Grundsteinlegung, begann sich der Turmstumpf in Richtung Südosten zu neigen. Der Grund für seine Schieflage liegt jedoch im Untergrund aus lehmigem Morast und Sand, der sich unter dem Gewicht verformt hat. Der schiefe Turm von Pisa gehört zum UNESCO Welterbe und ist wohl gerade, aufgrund seiner Lage weltbekannt.

 

 

Neben dem schiefen Turm von Pisa befindet sich der prunkvolle Dom von Pisa sowie das Baptisterium. Der Turm lässt sich auch von innen besichtigen, da es aber ganz schön warm war und zudem noch Maskenpflicht bestand, habe ich auf einen Besuch verzichtet. Dennoch lohnt es sich in Pisa einen Halt einzuplanen um diese wunderschönen Gebäude live zu betrachten und einige Erinnerungsfotos zu schiessen.

 

Cinque Terre – die fünf farbigen Dörfer von Italien

 

Riomaggiore Cinque Terre

 

Auf Social Media dominierten dieses Jahr die Bilder aus Cinque Terre und dies natürlich vollkommen zu Recht. Denn auch diese fünf Dörfer am Meer gehören zum UNESCO Welterbe und sind absolut einzigartig. In nur zwei Tagen habe ich alle fünf Dörfer mit dem Zug und zu Fuss entdeckt: Es war Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Für mich persönlich ist Vernazza das schönste der fünf Dörfer, aber auch Riomaggiore mit seinem charakteristischen roten Haus dürft ihr auf keinen Fall verpassen.

 

 

Jedes der Dörfer hat seinen eigenen Charme, in Manarola kann man z.B. im Restaurant Nessum Dorma die Aussicht auf’s Meer geniessen. Monterosso al Mare eignet sich wunderbar für einen Beach Day. Und Vernazza lädt zum Flanieren und Wandern ein. Corniglia ist das am weitest entfernte Dorf und ragt hoch oben übers Meer.

 

 

Der Besuch von Cinque Terre bildete für mich den perfekten Abschluss eines spannenden und vielseitigen Roadtrips durch unser Nachbarland Italien, knappe 10 Tage waren wir dazu unterwegs. Wenn du noch mehr Tipps und Anregungen zu deinem Besuch in Cinque Terre suchst, wirst du bestimmt in meinem Travelguide fündig.

Folge:
Teilen: