Italian days travel

 

Over the extended  weekend I drove to Italy with my bff. First we made ourselves comfortable on Lake Garda, before we took a closer look at the pretty town of Verona. In my travel diary I would like to share  some highlights of this short road trip with you.

 

 

However, before we could soak up the sun, the traffic jam at the Gotthard Tunnel was doomed to us. So far I had always managed to avoid the traffic jam, but since another tunnel was closed due to a fire, there was only one way to the south. Unfortunately, the Gotthard Pass was still closed because of snow too. Nonetheless, we left and reached our first destination in time for the sunrise.

 

 

In advance, we had already reserved our hotel in Desenzano del Garda in the south of Lake Garda. The staff has been super nice and made sure we could get our room at 10am instead of 3pm to have a little rest. Because, there is a lot to discover around Desenzano del Garda, we drove to Sirmione in the afternoon.

 

italy gardasee travel

 

Gone with the wind, we looked at the grottos of Catull. These are ancient ruins of a Roman villa at the northern end of the Sirmione peninsula at Lake Garda. This villa originally had three storeys and is really impressive. Especially the big columns and arches inspired us. The view of Lake Garda was at least as impressive and beautiful.

 

 

Very fascinating are also all the plants, which have searched their place between the ruins. If you are around, be sure to stop by.

 

italy gardasee travel

 

In Sirmione, however, there are still more historic buildings to discover, the Castello Scaligero is a beautiful and well-preserved castle. The Scaliger built it from the Roman fort in Sirmione in the 13th century at the request of the Lord of Verona, the fortified castle.

 

italy gardasee travel

 

In the evening we went back to Desenzano del Garda. There we walked along Lake Garda and enjoyed the beautiful sunset. Before we then found ourselves in a fish restaurant to eat spaghetti.

 

 

Cozy we let the evening end, before we went to Verona on day two. Many people know Verona thanks to the most famous love story: Romeo & Juliet. Verona is reachable by car in 30 minutes from Desenzano del Garda. If you are also traveling by car, I advise you to park your car in a guarded parking garage and not on the roadside. We found just before the city one, which costs 17 euros per day and is fully monitored.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Of course, I would like to share with you some tips and sights of Verona. Let’s start with the most famous attraction, the Arena of Verona.

 

arena Verona Italy travel

 

The amphitheater is still well preserved and is also still used for various events. It was built more than half a century before the Coliseum in Rome and is a remnant of the Roman Empire too.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

The arena is really impressive. If you want to see the arena from the inside, it is probably an advantage to arrive early. Since we did not have so much time, we have spared us queuing in the sun.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Directly in front of the arena is a pretty little park, which invites you for a short rest. Coincidentally, when we went to Verona, there was a marathon, so of course there were a lot of people around.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

In Verona, you actually feel a bit relegated in time. It is a small town with a lot of character. Do not miss to walk through the typical Italian streets.

 

 

There is also a lot going on in the market place, Piazza delle Erbe. There you will find tourist souvenirs as well as genuine Italian leather bags and gelati.

 

Cake of Verona Italy travel

 

If you prefer to take home an edible souvenir, I can recommend you the Torta russa di Verona. Crispy pastry on the outside, a soft cake inside. You will find the Torta russa di Verona in small bakeries.

 

 

Now to the landmark of all Romeo & Juliet fans. Of course, I did not miss the opportunity to visit Julia’s house and even climb to the famous balcony. It should be about the house from the fictional story. The balcony, however, was later built as a tourist attraction. In the house there are then some costumes, e.g. the premiere of the piece to discover.

 

 

I can also recommend the ascent to the hill San Pietro. The view is simply breathtaking. Unfortunately, the Castello del San Pietro was not visible because it is fenced. In the last picture you can see the Ponta Pietra – the bridge over the Adige.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Of course, before I went back home I had to refresh my lipstick all over the Italian way 😉 I hope you enjoyed my report and provided inspiration for your next trip to Italy.

 

Have you ever been to Lake Garda or Verona?

Follow:
Share:

4 Comments

  1. Thursday June 14th, 2018 / 02:31 PM

    Danke für die wundervollen Impressionen und das Kleid sieht toll an dir aus.
    Liebe Grüße!

    • Priscilla
      Author
      Tuesday June 19th, 2018 / 12:06 AM

      Danke dir Liebes

    • Priscilla
      Author
      Tuesday June 19th, 2018 / 12:06 AM

      It was so gorgeous. Thank you lovely.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?

Italian days travel

 

Über das verlängerte Pfingstwochenende fuhr ich mit meiner besten Freundin nach Italien. Zuerst machten wir es uns am Gardasee gemütlich, bevor wir uns das hübsche Städtchen Verona etwas genauer angesehen haben. In meinem Reisetagebuch möchte ich mit euch einige Highlights dieses Kurztrips teilen.

 

 

Bevor wir jedoch Sonne tanken konnten, wurde uns noch der Stau am Gotthard Tunnel zum Verhängnis. Bisher hatte ich es immer geschafft den Stau zu umfahren, da aber ein anderer Tunnel aufgrund eines Brandes gesperrt war, gab es de facto nur noch einen Weg Richtung Süden. Leider war nämlich der Gotthardpass wegen Schnee noch geschlossen. Nichtsdestotrotz fuhren wir los und erreichten rechtzeitig zum Sonnenaufgang unser erstes Ziel.

 

 

Vorab hatten wir auch bereits unser Hotel in Desenzano del Garda im Süden des Gardasees reserviert. Die Angestellten waren super nett und haben dafür gesorgt, dass wir statt um 15 Uhr schon um 10 Uhr ins Zimmer konnten um uns auszuruhen. Um Desenzano del Garda gibt es einiges zu entdecken. So fuhren wir am Nachmittag nach Sirmione. 

 

italy gardasee travel

 

Vom Winde verweht schauten wir uns die Grotten des Catull an. Dabei handelt es sich um Antike Ruinen einer römischen Villa am nördlichen Ende der Halbinsel Sirmione am Gardasee. Diese Villa hatte ursprünglich drei Geschosse und ist wirklich sehr eindrücklich. Besonders die grossen Säulen und Bögen haben uns begeistert. Die Aussicht auf den Gardasee ist aber mindestens genauso eindrücklich und wunderschön.

 

 

Sehr eindrücklich sind auch die ganzen Pflanzen, welche sich ihren Platz zwischen den Ruinen gesucht haben. Falls ihr einmal in der Nähe seid, schaut unbedingt vorbei.

 

italy gardasee travel

 

In Sirmione gibt es allerdings noch mehr historische Bauten zu entdecken, das Castello Scaligero ist eine wunderschöne und gut erhaltene Burg. Die Scaliger bauten aus dem Römerkastell in Sirmione im 13. Jahrhundert auf Wunsch des Stadtherrn von Verona, die wehrhafte Burg.

 

italy gardasee travel

 

Am Abend ging es dann für uns zurück nach Desenzano del Garda. Dort spazierten wir am Gardasee entlang und genossen den wunderschönen Sonnenuntergang. Bevor wir uns dann in einem Fischrestaurant einfanden. 

 

 

Gemütlich liessen wir den Abend ausklingen, bevor es an Tag zwei nach Verona ging. Viele kennen Verona dank der wohl berühmtesten Lovestory: Romeo & Julia. Verona ist mit dem Auto in 30 Minuten erreichbar von Desenzano del Garda aus. Wenn ihr auch mit dem Auto unterwegs seid, rate ich euch dazu euer Auto in einem bewachten Parkhaus abzustellen und nicht etwa am Strassenrand. Wir fanden kurz vor der Stadt eines, welches 17 Euro pro Tag kostet und vollkommen überwacht ist.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Nun möchte ich euch natürlich einige Tipps und Sehenswürdigkeiten von Verona nicht länger vorenthalten. Beginnen wir doch gleich mit der bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeit, der Arena von Verona. 

 

arena Verona Italy travel

 

Das Amphitheater ist noch immer gut erhalten und wird auch noch für diverse Veranstaltungen genutzt. Es wurde mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert vor dem Kolosseum in Rom erbaut und ist ebenfalls ein Überbleibsel des römischen Reiches. 

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Die Arena ist wirklich sehr eindrücklich. Falls ihr die Arena von innen anschauen möchtet ist es wahrscheinlich von Vorteil früh anzureisen. Da wir nicht soviel Zeit hatten, haben wir uns das Anstehen in der Sonne erspart.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Direkt vor der Arena befindet sich ein hübscher kleiner Park, welcher zum kurzen Rast einlädt. Zufälligerweise fand als wir nach Verona gingen, ein Marathon statt, daher hatte es natürlich viele Leute. 

 

Verona Italy travel

 

In Verona fühlt man sich tatsächlich etwas in der Zeit zurückversetzt. Es ist ein kleines Städtchen mit sehr viel Charakter. Lasst es euch nicht entgehen durch die typisch italienischen Gässchen zu spazieren.

 

 

Viel los ist sodann auch auf dem Marktplatz, der Piazza delle Erbe. Dort findet ihr Touristensouvenirs genauso wie echte italienische Ledertaschen und Gelati.

 

Cake of Verona Italy travel

 

Falls ihr euch lieber ein essbares Souvenir mit nach Hause nehmen möchtet, kann ich euch die Torta russa di Verona empfehlen. Aussen knuspriger Teig, innen ein weicher Kuchen. Ihr findet die Torta russa di Verona in kleinen Bäckereien.

 

 

Nun zur Sehenswürdigkeit aller Romeo & Julia Fans. Natürlich liess ich es mir nicht nehmen, das Haus von Julia zu besuchen und selbst auf den berühmten Balkon zu steigen. Es soll sich dabei um das Haus handeln aus der fiktiven Story. Der Balkon wurde allerdings erst nachträglich als Touristenattraktion erbaut. Im Haus finden sich sodann einige Kostüme z.B. der Uraufführung des Stücks.

 

 

Empfehlen kann ich euch sodann den Aufstieg auf den Hügel San Pietro. Die Aussicht ist schlicht atemberaubend. Leider war das Castello del San Pietro nicht zu sehen, da es eingezäunt ist. Auf dem letzten Bild seht ihr die Ponta Pietra – die Brücke über der Etsch.

 

Verona Italy travel

 

Bevor es zurück nach Hause ging musste ich natürlich noch meinen Lippenstift ganz Italy Like auffrischen 😉 Ich hoffe mein Bericht hat euch gefallen und Inspiration für den nächsten Trip nach Italien geliefert. 

 

Wart ihr schon einmal am Gardasee oder in Verona? 

 

Folge:
Teilen:

4 Kommentare

  1. Donnerstag, der 14. Juni 2018 / 14:31

    Danke für die wundervollen Impressionen und das Kleid sieht toll an dir aus.
    Liebe Grüße!

    • Dienstag, der 19. Juni 2018 / 00:06

      It was so gorgeous. Thank you lovely.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Etwas suchen?