Travel: London – the versatile metropolis

This summer I spent again a few days in the British capital London. Already on my first visit 8 years ago I fell in love with this city and also in it’s people.

 

London Big ben

 

 

attractions

 

Many of you will be quite well informed about London, even those which were not in the British capital to host yet. Nevertheless, I would like to briefly mention some of the examples of good and indispensable sights.

 

The first can you already see in the picture above, the Big Ben and the Palace of Westminster.

 

London Buckinghampalace-min

 

Always well attended is of course the Buckingham Palace, if you have enough time you should have a look at the changing of the guards once.

London Buckingham 2-min

 

Next, there are several great museums to discover, the London Eye, Madame Tussaud’s, Shrek’s Adventure or Sea World. A ride in the London Eye is worth it as well a visit to Madame Tussaud’s, but you should definitely plan enough time, I was there at my last stay in London. On the Internet or on-site you can also buy combination tickets or adventure pass, depending on can really pay off this. The queues are everywhere enormously long, it’s worth it in the morning to go out.

 

London London Eye-min

 

As you can see, we used to have pure luck with the weather again. Until now I had in England never fully rainy vacation days. Here you can also see a boat station, who wants can also travel by boat along the Thames.

 

Me London-min

 

On vacation I like it rather comfortable and functional. To me it is also always important not to look like a typical tourist, maybe because of this tactic I wasn’t robbed nowhere.

London Park-min

 

What I like in London are the smaller and larger parks which are truly ubiquitous. This includes always statues, gates and monuments.

 

London Kensington Tor-min

 

 

London Kensington 3-min

 

My absolute favorite parks are located at Kensington Palace and the adjoining park. Beautifully and Kensington Gardens is directly next to the palace.

 

London Kensington Palace 2-min

 

 

London Kensington Palace-min

 

 

London Kensington-min

 

In this park, it is really beautiful and it is so great that you can sit down on Sundays to a corner only to relax.

London Kensington 4-min

 

Those who like to walk in a green oasis, is best done the same also to the adjacent Hyde Park, this is also huge and gorgeous. In St. James Park then can you squirrels look up close, they’re really very tame. Feeding is however prohibited, it really hold but not many, they are just too cute.

 

London Eichhörnchen-min

 

Another essential point of interest is Tower Bridge and Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London as the royal fortress.

 

If you haven’t been in London yet, I would recommend you a tourist bus, because with that you come easiest and quickest to the sights. Not every attraction there has a metro station and the bus system is pretty complicated to understand at the beginning.

 

big bus london

 

more To Do’s in London

 

Something is missing above clearly, Oxford Street, a shopping paradise is this a road. All bearing brands have there built their store’s. Whether high class or not, you will surely find.

 

On my last visit I was also in the small Chinatown go, there can eat delicious Asian and it is very sweet to watch.

 

For individualists Soho is an absolute must-see place too. Also in Camden Town can be a great individual things found in the numerous shops. If you are in London for longer, also visited the numerous street markets such as Camden Street Market, Portobello Road, Brick Lane Street Market and Petticoat Lane Market Street.

 

And also do not forget to buy a few kitschy souvenirs.

 

Souvenir London-min

 

a few tips in the end

 

As you can see, London is huge, there is so much to discover and you are not the only tourists in town. You should allow plenty of time and make even a realistic plan of places to be visited. Because if you are still haphazardly in London, you do not make it easy to search for information, subways and Co. are huge time wasters.

 

Worried you from home an Oyster card, the Oyster card is the public transport map. You can charge a certain amount and pay so quickly and easily.

 

Do not forget your credit card. Much you can not pay with a foreign credit card in England, it works as often only the English Maestro Card, otherwise go only the credit cards. So if you are not like to carry around your whole travel money with you, it makes sense to pack them.

 

Find yourself a hotel in the center of London, Airbnb and Co. come you usually more expensive than a cheap hotel in London City itself, and are often very remote from the center. We lodged this year at The Paramount Hotel in Kensington in Earl’s Court underground station and were very pleased. The rooms are a little small but clean and the location is amazing.

 

I hope I could give you an impression of London.

 

Have you been in London yet?

Follow:
Share:

Travel: London – Die vielseitige Metropole

Diesen Sommer verbrachte ich wieder einmal einige Tage in der britischen Hauptstadt London. Schon bei meinem ersten Besuch vor 8 Jahren habe ich mich verliebt. In die Stadt und auch in die Menschen.

 

London Big ben

 

 

Sehenswürdigkeiten

 

Über London wissen viele schon ziemlich gut Bescheid, auch jene, welche noch nicht in der britischen Hauptstadt zu Gast waren. Trotzdem möchte ich kurz einige der empfehlenswerten und unverzichtbaren Sehenswürdigkeiten erwähnen.

 

Die ersten könnt ihr bereits auf dem oberen Bild erkennen, den Big Ben und den Palace of Westminster.

 

London Buckinghampalace-min

 

Immer gut besucht ist natürlich der Buckingham Palace, wer Zeit hat sollte sich zudem einmal die Wachablösung anschauen.

 

London Buckingham 2-min

 

Weiter gibt es etliche Touristenattraktionen zu entdecken, das London Eye, Madame Tussaud’s, Shrek’s Adventure oder Sea World. Eine Fahrt im London Eye lohnt sich ebenso ein Besuch bei Madame Tussaud’s, allerdings solltet ihr euch genug Zeit dazu einplanen, ich war bei meinem letzten Aufenthalt dort. Im Internet oder auch vor Ort könnt ihr zudem Kombi-Tickets kaufen oder eine Erlebnispass, je nachdem kann sich dieser wirklich auszahlen. Die Warteschlangen sind überall enorm lange, es lohnt sich früh morgens hin zu gehen.

 

London London Eye-min

 

Wie ihr sehen könnt, hatten wir mal wieder Wetterglück pur. Bis jetzt hatte ich in England wirklich noch nie völlig verregnete Urlaubstage. Hier könnt ihr zudem noch ein Bootstation sehen, wer Lust hat kann auch mit dem Boot die Themse entlang fahren.

 

Me London-min

 

Im Urlaub muss man ja nicht immer topgestylt sein, lieber bequem und funktionell. Mir ist es zudem immer wichtig nicht wie eine typische Touristin auszusehen, vielleicht verdanke ich auch dieser Taktik, dass ich noch nirgends beklaut wurde.

 

London Park-min

 

Was ich in London sehr mag sind die kleinen und grösseren Pärke, welche wirklich überall zu finden sind. Dazu gehören auch stets Statuen, Tore und Denkmale.

 

London Kensington Tor-min

 

London Kensington 3-min

 

Meine absoluten Lieblingsplätze befinden sich beim Kensington Palace und dem dazugehörigen Park. Wunderschön ist auch Kensington Gardens direkte neben dem Palast.

 

London Kensington Palace 2-min

 

London Kensington Palace-min

 

London Kensington-min

 

In diesem Park ist es wirklich wunderschön und er ist so gross, dass man sich auch Sonntags in eine Ecke setzen kann um sich zu entspannen.

 

London Kensington 4-min

 

Wer gerne in einer grünen Oase spaziert, geht am Besten gleich auch noch zum anliegenden Hyde Park, dieser ist ebenfalls riesig und wunderschön. Im St. James Park sodann könnt ihr Eichhörnchen von nahem betrachten, sie sind wirklich sehr zutraulich. Das Füttern ist jedoch untersagt, daran halten sich allerdings wirklich nicht viele, sie sind einfach zu niedlich.

 

London Eichhörnchen-min

 

Eine weitere unverzichtbare Sehenswürdigkeit ist die Towerbridge und auch Westminster Abbey, ebenso der Tower of London die königliche Festung.

War ihr noch nie in London, dann würde ich euch ein Touristenbus empfehlen, denn so kommt ihr am einfachsten und schnellsten zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten. Nicht für jede Sehenswürdigkeit gibt es eine U-Bahn-Station und das Bussystem ist doch ziemlich kompliziert zu Beginn.

 

big bus london

 

Weitere To Do’s in London

 

Etwas fehlt oben ganz klar, die Oxfordstreet, ein wahres Shoppingparadies ist diese eine Strasse. Alle coolen Marken haben dort ihre Store’s aufgebaut. Egal ob Highclass oder nicht, ihr werdet sicherlich fündig.

 

Bei meinem letzten Besuch war ich zudem im kleinen Chinatown unterwegs, dort lässt es sich super lecker asiatisch essen und es ist sehr süss zum anschauen.

 

Für Individualisten ist auch der Stadtteil Soho ein absolutes Must-See. Auch in Camden Town lassen sich tolle individuelle Sachen finden in den zahlreichen Shops. Wenn ihr länger in London seid, besucht auch die zahlreichen Street Markets wie der Camden Street Market, Portobello Road, Brick Lane Street Market und Petticoat Lane Street Market.

 

Und vergesst auch nicht ein paar kitschige Souvenirs zu kaufen.

 

Souvenir London-min

 

Ein paar Tipps zum Schluss

 

Wie ihr seht ist London riesig, es gibt unendlich viel zu entdecken und ihr seid nicht die einzigen Touristen in der Stadt.  Ihr solltet genügend Zeit einplanen und auch einen realistischen Plan der zu besuchenden Orte anfertigen. Denn wenn ihr in London noch planlos seid, schafft ihr es einfach nicht, die Suche nach Informationen, U-Bahnen und Co. sind riesige Zeitfresser.

 

Besorgt euch von zuhause aus eine Oyster Card, die Oyster Card ist die ÖV Karte. Ihr könnt einen bestimmten Betrag aufladen und damit schnell und einfach bezahlen.

 

Vergesst eure Kreditkarte nicht. Vieles kann man in England nicht mit einer ausländischen Bankkarte bezahlen, es funktioniert oftmals z.B. nur die englische Maestrocard, ansonsten gehen nur die Kreditkarten. Falls ihr also nicht euer ganzes Reisegeld mit euch herumtragen mögt, ist es sinnvoll diese einzupacken.

 

Sucht euch ein Hotel im Zentrum aus, Airbnb und Co. kommen euch in London meist teurer als ein günstiges Hotel und sind oftmals sehr abgelegen vom Zentrum. Wir logierten dieses Jahr im The Paramount Hotel in Kensington bei der U-Bahn-Station Earl’s Court und waren sehr zufrieden. Die Zimmer sind zwar etwas klein aber sauber und die Lage ist der Wahnsinn.

 

Ich hoffe ich konnte euch einen kleinen Eindruck von London geben.

 

Wart ihr auch schon in London?

 

Folgen:
Teilen: